Properties in Powys

Powys in Mid Wales is a principal area, local-government county and preserved county with a number of stunning rural properties.  Powys covers the historic counties of Montgomeryshire and Radnorshire, most of Breconshire, and a small part of Denbighshire. The encompassed area of 3,218 square miles makes it the largest county in Wales by area. The population is 133,000 (2011). It is bordered to the north by Gwynedd, Denbighshire and Wrexham, to the west by Ceredigion and Carmarthenshire, to the east by Shropshire and Herefordshire, and to the south by Rhondda Cynon Taf, Merthyr Tydfil, Caerphilly, Blaenau Gwent, Monmouthshire and Neath Port Talbot.

The majority of the centres in Powys are villages and small towns. The largest of these are Newtown, Ystradgynlais, Brecon, and Welshpool. Powys has the lowest population density of all the principal areas of Wales. Most of the county is mountainous, with north-south transportation by car being difficult. Powys was formerly a coal mining area, now largely agricultural, relying heavily on sheep farming. Tourism is also a major industry sector.

Wales is known for property built from local stone and properties in Powys are no exception. Stone-built cottages give the Powys property market a distinctive character. Village cottages and terraced houses, along with detached character properties make up the more urban property segment, while rural properties range from stunning barn conversions to equestrian properties. Many of the country properties come with extensive land. Listed period properties, refurbished farm houses and Victorian country properties are all available, as well as modern and new build properties.

Powys is a beautiful county, encompassing the majority of the Brecon Beacons National Park. The county is a long established mecca for walkers with two National Trails, two long distance riverside walks and a number of shorter, but no less beautiful walks, exploring the history of the remote, unspoilt area. The local market towns are lined with independent stores, boutiques, museums and galleries, and Llanwrtyd Wells holds the distinction of being the smallest town in Britain. A number of castles dot the surrounding countryside.

There are 91 Primary Schools, 13 Secondary Schools and 3 Special Schools in Powys. They are arranged into the following catchments: Brecon, Builth Wells, Crickhowell, Gwernyfed, Knighton / Presteigne, Llandrindod Wells, Llanfair Caereinion, Llanfyllin, Llanidloes, Machynlleth, Newtown, Welshpool and Ystradgynlais. Further education is provided by Coleg Powys.

Powys’ main transport infrastructure is its backbone of trunk roads linking the major routes. These include the A470, A483, A40 and A458. The closest international airports are located in Cardiff, Bristol, Liverpool, Manchester and Birmingham. By rail, The Heart of Wales Line -Shrewsbury to Swansea and the Cambrian Line - Shrewsbury to Aberystwyth provide access. National Express Coaches has stops throughout the region.